Tags

I’m afraid I haven’t been posting as much as I would like. This is due to several things. Firstly I have the bad habit of having multiple projects on the go, so each individual one takes longer to complete than if I did them one after another, although it does mean I approach each one refreshed on a regular basis. Secondly, I have a full time job, so between that and the commuting and such, I don’t have the time and energy to do experiments and research that I did 3 or 5 years ago. I can at least afford to buy some new equipment.

Having said that, I am almost back to normal with regards to energy and fitness, the problem there being that I have to regularly exercise to maintain it, including climbing mountains and suchlike, which of course takes up time that could also be occupied by experiments.

Finally, the most important reason is that I am getting on with the long mooted book on alchemy that I started at the end of 2010. Had I known then what I know now about how complex alchemy is and how tricky the experiments can be, I’m not entirely sure I would have started writing it. Nevertheless, it is at least half complete, with every chapter at least roughed out. The only thing is, I need to do more experiments, and because they are going in the book I can’t put them online, otherwise why would you buy the book?

I also need to find a publishers. All suggestions welcome, but bear in mind this is a popular introduction to alchemy with lots of colour pictures, which will somewhat limit the interested or indeed capable companies.

I’m also pushing on with my experimental history of alchemy research, for which I have already done some test work reported on here, now I just need to repeat it all, with better equipment than I had last time, and write it up. Research for the write up stage is ongoing, but of course takes time to do as well.

Finally, it can be hard to find actual alchemical experiments and related topics that I can do, because either they involve really nasty chemicals, or else I’ve already done them. So as usual all suggestions welcome.

