Tags

, ,

One thing is that people didn’t have what we think of as cups or mugs. They used wooden bowls instead, and plenty survive in the archaeological record. If ordinary people used cups we would expect to have some evidence for them, but no, there aren’t any, nor are there pottery ones until well into the 14th century.

Often called mazers, such bowls are seen in plenty of artwork, and one precious one survives from 1320’s Scotland! The Bute mazer:
http://www.nms.ac.uk/highlights/objects_in_focus/bute_mazer.aspx
which is a communal drinking bowl larger than mine.

More information on mazers and drinking bowls can be found here:
http://www.robin-wood.co.uk/pdf/mazer_history.pdf

I got a lovely set of bowls and spoon, hand made using a pole lathe, from Paul Atkin, a nice helpful fellow down in England, whose website is:
http://paulatkin.wordpress.com/
if you want some yourself, but hurry, he’s selling out fast and won’t be able to make more until later in the year.

Here they are:
new wooden bowls

The one on the left with the thinner rim can be drunk from. I might thin the rim down a bit more, but it works well enough with your mouth inside or outside the rim.
The reason for getting them is upgrading my kit, since I know so much more about the material culture of the early 14th century than I used to, I shall stop using my pottery drinking vessel, a pottle, and use the bowl instead.

Apart from bowls, the Perth High street excavations undearthed a number of staves which came from tankard like pots and would have been the right size to use by yourself, so I think I am justified in suggesting that they would have held ale or water. I would get such a vessel, but manufacturers are hard to find and storing them so they stay useable and watertight is hard to do.

I wonder how many people I can persuade this season to change to drinking bowls rather than any form of mug or cup, when visiting 1305 or 1314?

