Tags

, , ,

My nice red cushion has a hole in it from an ember from the fire, as I’m sure happened in medieval times:
red cushion burn mark

This is carrying authenticity a little too far. At least it shows an advantage of all natural construction- it didn’t actually burn or melt the way it would have if I had followed some suggestions and used a modern plastic cushion for the inside.

The same thing happened to my new tunic at an event at Chatelherault, near Hamilton, when I was running my bronze furnace:
burnt new tunic

As you can see, the wool just burnt a little. This is one major reason why I don’t use wool mixes and why you should avoid doing so if you’re doing any form of re-enactment which involves a fire. Okay, plenty of us sit around campfires in modern clothing and probably get a hole or two burnt in them, but we spend longer by fires in our authentic clothes, closer too, and it would be a shame to burn holes in them and have strange melted patches from the heat.
At least it helps in giving clothes a well used and lived in look; re-enactment events always look better when people look at home in their clothes and they are properly lived in.

